SANA Awards History

Each year at Convention we acknowledge certain SANA members for their service to the Industry, by giving awards of Service, Merit or a Gold Medal.

Merit Award:

This award honours an individual who has shown dedication and support the Green Industry over a number of years.

Service Award:

This award is presented to a loyal SANA member who displays years of commitment to the organisation through positive, motivated and regular attendance of trade days, functions and conferences.

Gold Medal:

SANA’s highest honour. This medal is awarded to a dedicated member who has been a loyal supporter of SANA and who has made a valuable contribution to the Green Industry over numerous years.

President’s Trophy:

The recipient of this award is chosen by the President. It is awarded to a SANA member that has given the president exceptional support and guidance.



Previous Recipients:


Merit Award

Service Award

Gold Medal


Lolly Stuart

Chris Wilkinson

Not Awarded


Serf Serfontein

Kay Montgomery

Gill Blignaut


Dawn Collard
Michele Coetzer

Vic Grobler
Wessel Duif Jnr

Di Goodwin


Morné Faulhammer

Jac Duif
Pierre Paillard

Mike Zingel
Roy Trendler


Jacques D Malan
Gerald Schofield

Hester McLachlan-Evans

GB Braak (posthumous)
Mark Sachs


Mandy Fick

Diane Ross

Gordon McLachlan


Theunis Ebersohn

Jan van Blerk

Vic Grobler
Brian Krull


Ivo van Geest
Carmel Wolf

Paul Vonk

Mike Gibbons
Jacques Malan
Rob Stodel


Jaques du Plessis

Peter Goodwin

Dick Carter
Jeff Parsley


Dharmesh Roopsingh
Alan Ross

Wayne Stewart
Tanya Visser

Jan van Bergen
Chris Wilkinson


Cary Goodwin

Halmar Taschner
Ian Simon

Frik Bruwer


Warwick Bayer

Not awarded

Marlaen Straathof


Leon Scholtz

Keith Kirsten
Morné Faulhammer

Gerrie Griffioen

2014 Gavin Armfield

Cary Goodwin
Nick Stodel

Theuis Ebersohn
Alan Ross


Heyns Botha
DM Hoffman

Dawn Collard
Charles Oosthuizen

Paul Vonk